Marrakesh, Morroco

May 7, 2009 at 6:57 pm Leave a comment


The Guest House, Riad Basin, was located within the 11th century city wall of Marrakesh.  As we walked from the street to our riad I felt concerned in the same way I felt when I was introduced to the Favelas of Rio de Janiero.  Narrow streets with potential danger lurking at the next corner and then I realized I was in a neighborhood, everyone knew everyone’s business, the people were engaged in conversation, I was a stranger amongst friends.

image IMG_0145

After checking in we dropped our luggage and quickly returned the the street to take our car for a tour of the city.

IMG_0149

IMG_0146

Marrakesh is full of energy where you drink culture through a fire hose. A place where you can learn about yourself, history, relationships, and how generous our world is to us.

DSC_0107DSC_0080

DSC_0068DSC_0078 DSC_0095DSC_0085

DSC_0071

And here are all of my new friends by night:

IMG_0139IMG_0131

IMG_0141

If we are the questions that we ask ourselves I ask how I missed this place for so many years. Marrakesh wasn’t on my Bucket List but it should be on yours.

Tomorrow we’re off to Ouarzazate, driving south through the Atlas mountains.

Entry filed under: Personal Life and Favorites, Travel. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Marrakesh Express Kasbah Hotel Aaluca

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Add to Technorati Favorites

Recent Posts

Categories


